Message from the President

Manufacturing industry was once the main pillar of Hong Kong's economy. As one of the major chambers of commerce in the city, CMA's missions are fighting for a better business environment for the industrial sector, promoting Hong Kong's economic development and enhancing members' competitiveness through the provision of premium services. The fourth industrial revolution is taking place with its focus, on intelligence, sweeping the world with unprecedented force. The flag for re-industrialisation is flying, bringing to Hong Kong's manufacturing industry an historic opportunity for another takeoff. In order to keep in line with technological advances, pursue a better quality of life, seek new growth points or deal with crises, industries need to bring process innovation and creativity into their operation and management.

 

Many CMA members are traditional manufacturing enterprises or companies operating in the Pearl River Delta region. In the face of challenges from the new wave of industrial transformation and re-industrialisation, it is their interests that we attach weight to and endeavour to protect. The CMA will continue to convey opinions to the relevant authorities, and will step up support to help them upgrade and transform more quickly and successfully to gain a stable footing for sustainable development in the ever-changing environment.

 

The Belt and Road initiative is a significant development strategy for China, and an important opportunity for Hong Kong's future development. The HKSAR government has responded quickly by actively forming and consolidating Hong Kong's positioning. Infrastructure, financial sector and professional services - among others - are identified to stand to benefit right from the start of the Belt and Road development. Next will come exciting new business opportunities for Hong Kong's industry as huge demand arises from the gradual breakdown of trade barriers between nations along the route. The CMA will play a path-building role through increased cooperation and exchanges to ensure that members will be able to seize the opportunities and climb onboard the nation's express development train.

 

Hong Kong's industry has been an important contributor to development of the Pearl River Delta. Today, the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area is perceived as the extended version of the original Pearl River Delta development. Today, Hong Kong plays a different role with different positioning. However, cooperation with other regional cities in innovation, technology and industry will open up Hong Kong businesses to the broad range of opportunities available in the expanded area. The CMA will work closely with the HKSAR government to achieve win-win situations in the Greater Bay Area.

 

If innovation is the key to rekindling industrial prosperity, talent is the engine for the promotion of industrial innovation. This also applies to the 84-year old CMA. To foster even greater success, we will provide more opportunities for our young and energetic members to inject new ideas into the CMA so industrial development can continue and thrive.

 

The CMA has enjoyed prosperous development under the leadership of different former Presidents. Over the last few years, we have created business opportunities for our members by serving as a bridge to strengthen ties between Mainland provinces or cities and foreign countries. We also strive to promote social harmony by upholding corporate responsibility, encouraging members to give back to society by setting role models and supporting disadvantaged groups. All these efforts have gained recognition of society.

 

It is my honor to become the 41st President of the CMA. I would like to take this opportunity to commit every General Committee member and me to adhere to the principle of reforming the old and growing the new for the pragmatic promotion of the CMA's advancement. I will continue to steer the CMA towards sustainable development of the industrial and business sectors and harmonious growth of Hong Kong. It is hoped that all of you will continue to support the CMA, move ahead and explore the future as our good partners!

 

Dr Ng Wang Pun, Dennis, BBS MH
President

会长献辞

工业曾是香港的经济支柱,厂商会作为代表工商业的商会,使命便是为业界争取更佳的营商环境,推动本港的经济发展,同时透过优质的服务,提升会员的竞争力。当下,以智能化为核心的第四次工业革命,正以前所未有的态势席卷而来。「再工业化」的旗帜正徐徐扬起,为香港工业再次起飞提供了难得的历史机遇。无论是顺应科技进步还是改善生活质素,是寻找新增长点还是应对危机,香港工业都必须创新,包括技术的创新,商业模式的创新。

 

厂商会的会员企业中,有不少是传统制造业企业或是在内地经营的本港企业,在新一轮产业变革和「再工业化」的浪潮中正面对各种挑战,他们的权益一直是我们重视和致力守护的。在香港和国家推动创科发展的背景下,本会将继续努力把他们的声音传递给有关部门,同时提升支援,助他们加速紧升级转型,实现华丽转身,使它们在这个千帆竞渡的时代,牢牢立于不败之地。

 

「一带一路」是中国的重要战略,亦是香港未来发展的重大契机。特区政府没有怠慢,积极发掘和巩固香港的定位和切入点。虽说「一带一路」初期是以发展基建,金融,以及其他专业发展为主,但随着与沿线各国的贸易壁垒逐渐解除后,将创造大量需求,为香港的工业带来蓬勃生机。厂商会会肩负「搭桥铺路」的职责,多合作,多交流,令会员企业能抢领先机,搭乘国家这部快车。

 

过往香港工业对珠三角的发展起了不可或缺的贡献,如今「粤港澳大湾区」被喻为是珠三角发展的延伸和升级版,香港的功能和定位虽然已经有所不同,但若然区内的创科研究和产业能好好协作,携手扬帆出海,将会为港商带来更广阔的发展机遇。厂商会将与特区政府紧密合作,推动大湾区合作共赢。

 

如果创新是工业再续辉煌的根本,那么人才便是推动工业创新的引擎。对于拥有84年歴史的厂商会也是一样。正所谓青出于蓝胜于蓝,我们会提供更多机会让年轻具活力的会员发挥潜能,把新思维带进会内,令工业能够薪火相传。

 

多得前任会长的努力和带领,厂商会一直阔步前行地蓬勃发展过去几年,我们充份发挥了桥梁角色,积极与中国内地各省市和海外加强联系,为业界和会员拓展商机。我们亦致力促进社会和谐,提倡企业公民责任,以身作则地鼓励会员企业回馈社会,扶持弱势社群。这些工作已经得到社会的认同。

 

本人很荣幸成为厂商会第41届会长,我承诺我和会董会同仁将以革故鼎新的宗旨,稳扎稳打地推动厂商会发展,并且继续为业界引航,为工商业持续发展出力,为香港和谐发展担当。我希望大家能继续支持厂商会的工作,与我们成为一同砥砺前行,一起探索未来的好伙伴!

 

会长 吴宏斌博士 BBS MH